Fitness · Lifestyle · Uncategorized

#WorkoutWednesday

Of all days to workout, Wednesday, for me, is a great choice.

It could be because it starts with “W”. Like the word workout! 😊

Or that it helps me to get over the hump of the week. 🙌🏽

Realistically, if I haven’t worked out by Wednesday… I feel very guilty 

Being active has become a crucial part of my life and it sucks when I can’t make the time to do it. 

One great app that helps keep me on my toes is the “Tabata Timer.”

Screenshot_20170510-205723

It’s great for High Intensity Interval Training (H.I.I.T).

H.I.I.T is a form of exercise training that alternates between periods of intense exercise and less strenuous recovery

What I love about the “Tabata Timer” app is that it allows you to be creative with your workout and choose how long you want the high/low intervals to last.

For me,  H.I.I.T is a great fitness representation of life. The ups, downs, recovery and your attitude from beginning to end.

**Yes, God wants to be put first in your workouts too.**

There is even a timer for preparing your equipment and cooling down!

Screenshot_20170510-204656

Today, I had my intervals set at 20 seconds of work and a 10 second rest. 

That is my baseline. I never go lower. 

When I want to work really hard, I go for a 40 seconds of work and 20 seconds of rest. 

High Intensity exercises could be pushups, squats, mountain climbers or straight leg bicycles. 

**What ever exercise you hate is what I suggest for the high intensity interval. 😉**

For the rest/less strenuous intervals, stretching, walking around and deep breaths that last 4 seconds (inhale and exhale) work well. 

You’re slowing down the heart rate so you can bring it back up. 

**Breath control like this has been very beneficial for my anxiety attacks. And my temper.😊**

Down in the bottom left, you can choose how many cycles you want to do. 

A cycle is one interval of work with one interval of rest. 

Another reason I like the 20-10 intervals is that I can easily time my workout. 

2 cycles= 1 minute.

For a 15 minute exercise, it’s 30 cycles. 

30 minutes=60 cycles. 

When I do a 40-20, the timing comes out weird. I can’t figure out how to equal 30 minutes of total exercise time. It’s just too much thought.🤤🤤

Lastly,  the best part of the app is that it is free!! 

Who doesn’t love a free Fitnes app that is of great quality?

Your able to listen to your music from any source as well as hear the timer bells when the intervals change.

The calendar helps to keep track of your workouts too. 

All around, great fitness app for me!

Anyone else have any fitness app faves?

Leave a Reply

